American Association for Cancer Research (AACR)


“It’s Our Time” is an intriguing fact-filled video about the accomplishments and possibilities of cancer research, conceptualized by American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) President Tyler Jacks, Ph.D., and AACR Annual Meeting Program Chair Frank McCormick, Ph.D.

The video is intended to energize cancer researchers about the progress they can make together, going forward in preventing cancer and in lessening the burden of the disease.

The video was produced as an opening to the AACR Annual Meeting 2010, the premier scientific meeting in cancer research. Held in Washington, D.C. in April, it attracted more than 18,000 attendees and covered the breadth of cancer science from basic through clinical and epidemiological research.

Technical information:

This is an animated video, edited by Center City Video in Philadelphia

Showing 7pm Thursday, July 29th at theMexican American Cultural Center


Biographies of the 3 main video creators:

Paul Driscoll, Director of Marketing and Creative Services at the AACR, is an award-winning graphic designer. In his eight years at the AACR, he has shaped the brand of the organization and the look of all of its materials – from its six journals to public service and marketing campaigns. Paul has been active in Community Theater in the Philadelphia area for 16 years, which lends him endless creative energy that happily found an outlet in this project.

Lisa N. Haubein received her Ph.D. in Molecular Biology from the University of Minnesota and did her postdoctoral training at the University of Pennsylvania.  Lisa joined AACR in 2005.  In her current role as Associate Director of Program Development, she administers scientific conferences and workshops which help foster research and collaborations and advance the understanding of cancer.

Michele Leiberman, Associate Director of Public Affairs at the AACR, is a Peabody Award-winning former journalist with more than a decade of experience in print and broadcast news outlets including U.S. News and World Report and CNN. At the AACR, Michele spearheads video and public awareness efforts that will, one day soon, make the AACR a household name.



Video Committee

Tyler Jacks, Ph.D., Co-Chairperson

Frank McCormick, Ph.D., Co-Chairperson

Judith Campisi, Ph.D.

John D. Carpten, Ph.D.

Martin A. Cheever, M.D.

Ronald DePinho, M.D.

Judy E. Garber, M.D., M.P.H.

Michael B. Kastan, M.D., Ph.D.

Scott M. Lippman, M.D.

Kornelia Polyak, M.D., Ph.D.

Timothy R. Rebbeck, Ph.D.

Victoria M. Richon, Ph.D.

Eric H. Rubin, M.D.

Avrum E. Spira, M.D., M.Sc.

Michael E. Stefanek, Ph.D.

Danny R. Welch, Ph.D.

Eileen P. White, Ph.D.

AACR Staff:

Margaret Foti, Ph.D., M.D. (h.c.)

David S. Bernstein, Ph.D.

Kathleen Case

Andrea De Vincent

Paul J. Driscoll (Director)

Lisa N. Haubein, Ph.D. (Editor)

Michele Leiberman (Producer)